The Friendship Graph

Today I want to give a thought to friendship. I am not very old neither am I young.  And at this stage I feel that making new friends has become difficult. I had lots when i was in school and college. It seemed to my family that I had too  many friends. And I did feel rich that way!  Till I was studying my friend circle was excellent. Then I joined work. Ofcourse I made new friends there but my old friends did take a step back in priority, although we were connected by social media. I left my job and started some higher education. Lo and behold I had new and many friends again. After I passed out I got married. I came to USA and living the life as a housewife was kind of a very “sometimes happy sometimes irritating” feeling. For few months I knew no one here except for few of my husband’s friends. Then I joined a dance class and made 2 3 friends there.                                                                                                                                                                                                                                            I message my old friends sometimes and realize that all of them are in a different stream of life now. Married, having kids, going after a dream job etc.And even though I am connected through social media i do not feel that connected. I dont know what is going on in there lives and get updated when they put up pictures and status message on the internet. The two three friends I have are busy doing something or the other. I feel the bonding I used to have in college or work is absolutely absent now in my life. This decreasing graph of friends in real life and increasing online friends isn’t helping much! I miss my friends many times and wonder if they also feel that life has moved on too fast leaving good old relations behind. Why does it become difficult to make friends at a later stage in life? Or is it just because right now i dont have a job so I dont get to meet many people. Which is why I have this feeling?                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                    I get jealous when I see a picture of a friend with many other friends travelling somewhere or meeting up. Guess friends are really important and it does get difficult to find them later in life. Many of my friends now have groups of friends who are friends of their husbands! And I never see them with there own set of old friends. Husband’s friends become more important than own old friends. After my marriage I could not make many plans with the friends I made here because all there husbands would probably have plans. I miss being with friends who would just be ready to join in and plan something. Guess that’s how life goes. I sound very depressed!!! Well I am just missing my friends and just want to say cheers to people who have held their friendship bonds tightly and keep doing so regardless of how life goes on! Kudos!

Leave a Reply

